Aperture Tricks – All About Apple Aperture

April 22, 2006

What If Aperture Isn’t Right For You?

Filed under: Articles — Scott @ 2:57 pm

I have received a enough email on Aperture 1.1 by now to know that most of the installed Aperture user base is satisfied with the update. Not everyone is thrilled, but they find the improvement sufficient to enjoy the program. Personally, I think the update is great. But there are some people who just aren’t going to be satisfied with Aperture, even with the recent price reduction.

Some of those folks have been contacting me to ask for suggestions or alternatives to Aperture. A natural response might be Adobe’s Lightroom. But unfortunately, I think that’s jumping out of the frying pan and into the fire. I applaud Adobe for making the attempt, but whatever Aperture’s shortcomings, it blows away Lightroom for features, usability and power. Because it’s Beta, I think it’s folly to trust it in any serious digital photo workflow. Once the program matures and comes out in a retail version, my concerns will probably be minimized. But right now, I don’t think much of it. That’s just my opinion, but hey, this is my blog so what the heck.

So if Lightroom isn’t the right choice, there’s Lightzone. At $149 it seems to be priced right and my pal Derrick Story seems to like it.

But another choice that I would not have mentioned six months ago is iPhoto. If you buy a new Mac it comes free with iPhoto and the latest version is stunning in both its power and simplicity. It has some of the cool new features of Aperture, is very stable and runs like a race car on any Mac.

So there are alternatives, and if Aperture isn’t right for you, then you can move on to something else. The good news is that there are lots of choices.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

