Aperture Tricks – All About Apple Aperture

February 16, 2006

New Notebook On The Way!

Filed under: Announcements — Scott @ 1:17 pm

Send your tricks, tips and announcements to aperturetricks@aol.com.

I received a ship date for my new MacBookPro! The reported ship date was February 24, 2006. Then, Apple changed it to March 4th, but the good news is, they’re bumping the processor up to 2 Ghz from 1.83 Ghz free of charge! Since I paid for two day shipping, I should have it in hand on March 6th.

Here are the specs for my new laptop…

1) 2.0 Ghz processor (Aperture only really seems to need processor power when involved in file management so this should be plenty fast)
2) 2GB 667 DDR2 – 2x1GB SO-DIMMs (Maxed out the memory to give Aperture all it wants – it will take advantage of this upgrade)
3) 100GB Serial ATA drive @ 7200 rpm (I opted for the faster 7200 RPM drive since Aperture likes to read and write often from the drive)
4) ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 – 256MB GDDR3 (Hoping this card is fast enough but it really doesn’t matter, it’s the only card available right now)
5) SuperDrive (DVD±RW/CD-RW) (Standard)
6) AirPort Extreme Card & Bluetooth (Standard)
7) Backlit Keyboard/Mac OS – U.S. English (Standard)
8) 15.4-inch TFT Display (Standard)
9) AppleCare (Never – ever – buy an Apple laptop without this – NEVER!)

As soon as there is a PCI-Express firewire 800 card for this computer I will add that to the kit.

Before tax, this baby cost an amazing $3000+ (And I didn’t even spring for the $29 dongle modem or the extra $300 for the fastest processor.) After paying the Honorable Christine Gregoire her share for Washington state sales tax, it tops out at more than $3300!!!

That’s more than I paid for my first three cars (combined) but I am expecting to get as much or more fun out of it. And of course, I will have to wait a month or so for the Aperture Universal Binary crossgrade before I can use this laptop for its intended purpose, as a remote Aperture launchpad.

I will report here on the new machine as soon as I have put it through its paces. And stay tuned, since I suffer from early-adopter syndrome, I’ll probably be selling this into the used laptop market when the 17-inch model comes out:)

Blog at WordPress.com.

