Aperture Tricks – All About Apple Aperture

February 3, 2006

Want to speed up Aperture? – Mini Review of the NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT

Filed under: Reviews — Scott @ 7:13 am

Send your tricks, tips and announcements to aperturetricks@aol.com.

I just got my NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GT graphics card installed in place of the stock NVIDIA 6600 that came with my Dual-core PowerMac G5 tower. And all I can say is WOW! It has made Aperture’s adjustment sliders “scroll like butter.” (Sorry, you had to watch Steve Jobs’ keynote at this year’s Macworld to understand the butter reference.)

I compared performance with a friend’s older Dual 2.5 PowerMac G5 and he’s running the ATI 800 card. His machine actually has more RAM than mine and a faster clock speed but my performance (in Aperture) was slightly better. Both cards are very good.

The greater point is that since Aperture relies heavily on the GPU instead of the CPU, a graphics card upgrade could be the only thing standing between a good Aperture experience and a great one!

Blog at WordPress.com.

